Course Profile: VEN 110

January 18, 2022

Assistant Professor Megan Bartlett teaches VEN 110, Grapevine Growth and Physiology, during the winter quarter. The goal of this course is to give students the understanding of grapevine biology they will need to tackle the challenges of vineyard management.  

California pushes composting to lower food waste emissions

December 13, 2021

DAVIS, Calif. (AP) — Banana peels, chicken bones and leftover veggies won’t have a place in California trashcans under the nation’s largest mandatory residential food waste recycling program that’s set to take effect in January.

The effort is designed to keep landfills in the most populous U.S. state clear of food waste that damages the atmosphere as it decays. When food scraps and other organic materials break down they emit methane, a greenhouse gas more potent and damaging in the short-term than carbon emissions from fossil fuels.