Dr. Kyria Boundy-Mills receives Academic Federation Excellence in Research Award

Dr. Kyria Boundy-Mills
Dr. Kyria Boundy-Mills

Kyria L. Boundy-Mills, Department of Food Science and Technology 
Academic Federation Excellence in Research Award Recipient

Dr. Boundy-Mills has been a Specialist at UC Davis since 2002, and the curator of the Phaff Yeast Culture Collection since 2001. She inherited one of the largest and most diverse collections of yeasts in the world, which contains over 7,000 strains in the public catalog (http://phaffcollection.ucdavis.edu). The collection is the living legacy of several generations of UC yeast researchers including Herman Phaff, Emil Mrak and William Cruess. However, this large, irreplaceable collection was in a deteriorating state and at great risk for obsolescence. Over the last 14 years, Dr. Boundy-Mills has not only revitalized the collection, but has expanded and utilized it in innovative and creative ways with tremendous benefit to UC Davis and its stakeholders. Her research program focuses on discovery of natural yeasts with promising characteristics for a broad variety of research avenues, and sharing the candidates with numerous research labs around the world for further strain and process development. This line of research is possible because UC Davis has invested in preserving this yeast collection. 

Congratulations to Kyria for the Academic Federation Excellence in Research Award. 

If you are interested in attending the 2015 Academic Awards and Faculty Research Lecture

The Davis Division of the Academic Senate and The Academic Federation of UC Davis cordially invite you to attend the 

2015 Academic Awards and Faculty Research Lecture 

Tuesday, May 5, 2015 
Student Community Center, UC Davis campus 

5:15 p.m. Awards Program 
6:15 p.m. Reception 
6:55 p.m. Faculty Research Lecture 

Click http://tinyurl.com/q5n3dhn to RSVP Yes by Friday, May 1, 2015 

For information, please call 530-754-2007 

Academic Senate Faculty Research Lecture Award Recipient 
Anna Busse Berger, Department of Music 

Academic Senate Distinguished Teaching Award Recipients Undergraduate Category 
Clarence E. Walker, Department of History 
Russell C. Hovey, Department of Animal Science 
Kristin Lagattuta, Department of Psychology

Academic Senate Distinguished Teaching Award Recipients Graduate/Professional Category 
Margaret Ferguson, Department of English 
John M. Labavitch, Department of Plant Sciences 
Truman P. Young, Department of Plant Sciences

Academic Senate Distinguished Scholarly Public Service Award Recipients 
James R. Carey, Department of Entomology and Nematology 
Harry Cheng, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering 
Robert Powell, Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science

Academic Federation Excellence in Teaching Award Recipients 
Andrea Khoo, Department of Physical Education 
Karma Waltonen, University Writing Program

Academic Federation Excellence in Research Award Recipient 
Kyria L. Boundy-Mills, Department of Food Science and Technology