Viticulture and Enology Faculty Awards & Honors

Faculty awards

David Block named as fellow of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers 
David Block

Professor David Block, chair of the Department of Viticulture and Enology, has been elected a Fellow of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE). The honor affirms the high esteem with which his colleagues and peers view his distinctive professional achievements and accomplishments.

You can read more about David Block and the Fellowship in John Stumbos' article.

Hildegarde Heymann awarded ASEV’s Merit Award 

Dr. Hildegarde Heymann was awarded the ASEV's highest honor, the 2020 Merit award.  
HildegardeAccording to ASEV: "The ASEV Merit Award, presented since 1955, is designed to celebrate the accomplishments of an individual in the field of enology or viticulture. The yearly award acknowledges achievement or excellence in any field directly or indirectly related to enology or viticulture, including education, technology, research, management and public relations.” 

Due to the postponement of ASEV’s National Conference in June, Dr. Heymann will present her lecture, “Forty Years of Wine and Sensory Science” at the 2021 National Conference in Monterey next year.  

More information can be found on the ASEV website. 

Innovators of the Year, from left: Top row — Bruce German, Daniela Barile and Mark Underwood. Bottom row — David Mills, Carlito Lebrilla and Jennifer Smilowitz.

David Mills receives Chancellor’s Innovator of the Year Award 

Dr. David Mills, in collaboration with Daniela Barile, Bruce German, Carlito Lebrilla, Jennifer Smilowitz and Mark Underwood, received the Chancellor’s Innovator of the Year Award for advancing infant health through microbiome restoration.  

The Innovator of the Year awards recognize individual faculty, staff or teams whose innovative research or accomplishments have made a measurable societal impact in the preceding year, or whose activities have achieved important milestones and present very strong potential for societal impact. Recipients receive $10,000 to apply to their research or community engagement efforts. 

Detailed information about Dr. Mills and his team’s study can be found here. 

Faculty Promotions and Tenure 

The following faculty members received promotions and tenure: 

Ben and Dario
Ben Montpetit and Dario Cantu


Dario Cantù: Associate Professor to Professor 
Ben Montpetit: Assistant Professor to Associate Professor