Congratulations to our 2020 IFT Achievement Award Recipients!

5 IFT Award Winners
Christine Bruhn, Carl Winter, James R. Coughlin, Barbara Schneeman, and Kathryn Boor in her student days

The Institute of Food Technologists’ (IFT’s) Achievement Awards recognize an individual or team for remarkable contributions in research, applications, and service in the food science and technology industry.  Congratulations to our five UC Davis Food Science and Technology-affiliated awardees for 2020!

Trailblazer Award & Lectureship: Christine Bruhn, Ph.D
Christine Bruhn is a Specialist in Cooperative Extension Emerita; she retired from Department of Food Science and Technology in 2014 but remains active professionally.  Read more about her here: 

Carl R. Fellers Award: Carl Winter, Ph.D.
Carl Winters is a Specialist in Cooperative Extension Emeritus; he retired from the Department of Food Science and Technology in 2019; read more about him here:  

Bernard L. Oser Food Ingredient Safety Award: James R. Coughlin, Ph.D., CFS
James R. Coughlin received his M.S. in Food Science and Technology, and his Ph.D. postdoctoral training at UC Davis. He is a long-time member of the Food Science and Technology Leadership Board and the President and Founder of Coughlin and Associates; you can read more about him here: 

Gilbert A. Leveille Award and Lectureship: Barbara Schneeman, Ph.D.
Barbara Schneeman is a former faculty member of the Departments of Food Science and Technology and Nutrition, and served as a Dean of the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.  More about her here:

Gerhard J. Haas Award: Kathryn J. Boor, Ph.D
Kathryn J. Boor is the Ronald P. Lynch Dean of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences at Cornell University and earned a Ph.D. from UC Davis in 1994.  More about her here: