The Institute of Food Technologists recognizes Professors German, McCarthy and Winter

Bruce German and Carl Winter with their awards
Bruce German and Carl Winter with their awards

At the Institute of Food Technologists' annual meeting, not only did our student association make great impressions (winning the IFTSA College Bowl Competition, as well as Outstanding Chapter for Organizational Growth), but three FST faculty were recognized at the award ceremony on July 16. 

Michael McCarthy on screen

Dr. Michael McCarthy, who retired as chair and professor at the end of June, was selected a Fellow of IFT. This is a unique professional distinction given to individuals with outstanding and extraordinary qualifications and experience for their contributions to the food science and technology field. 

Two other faculty were on the podium at the Awards Ceremony: Dr. Carl Winter was given the Bernard Oser Ingredient Safety award, and Dr. Bruce German accepted the Gil Leveille award. 

Food Science and Technology Extension Food Toxicologist and Vice Chair Carl Winter was selected to receive the 2016 Institute of Food Technologists' Bernard L. Oser Food Ingredient Safety Award which honors an Institute of Food Technologists member for his or her contribution to the scientific knowledge of food ingredient safety or leadership in establishing principles for food ingredient safety evaluation or regulation. 

Food Science and Technology Professor J. Bruce German was selected to receive the 2016 Institute of Food Technologists' Gilbert A. Leveille Award and Lectureship, which is awarded in partnership with the American Society of Nutrition. The award recognizes outstanding research and/or public service at the interface between the disciplines of nutrition and food science, over a period of five years or more, which has contributed to improved health and well-being. 

Congratulations to all and GO UC DAVIS!